Alberta Tourism, Parks and Recreation (TPR) has recently deregulated and transferred eight small provincial recreation areas located across Alberta to the local municipality for their continued operation as public recreation sites.

Crane Lake East PRA to the MD of Bonnyville
Crane Lake West PRA to the MD of Bonnyville
Ethel Lake PRA to the MD of Bonnyville
Minnie Lake PRA to the MD of Bonnyville
Fork Lake PRA to Lac La Biche County
Holmes Crossing PRA to Barrhead County
Hanmore Lake PRA to Smoky Lake County
Sun Haven PRA to the Summer Village of Sunbreaker Cove

The boundary of Willow Creek Provincial Park has also been amended by deregulating and transferring the facility zone portion of the site to the Municipal District of Willow Creek. The remainder of the site will continue to be managed by TPR.

As part of the Plan for Parks, TPR has committed to clarifying the park system and providing quality park experiences for all Albertans. The transfer of sites such as these PRAs to the local municipality allows them greater flexibility to offer local and regional recreational and tourism opportunities.

More information about these deregulations and transfers is available at: